Computer Crash

Two nights ago after I finished my last post I decided to update my iPhone.  In the process of doing that, my computer crashed, my external hard drive crashed and my iPhone crashed.  The fall out?  External hard drive survives.  iPhone completely crashed and less one Operating System and all data on it.  Computer hard drive became over loaded and had to be coaxed back to life.  Fortunately, no catastrophic loss. 

It took me three hours to make my phone able to make a phone call the next day.  Nevermind the ammenities (for which I paid royally) like apps and music.  And my photos.  Which still exist.  But, I face the prospect of an entire night of upload time to get them back on my phone.  Same for music.  And, less time consumingly so, apps.

Since I got what the kids call a regular real job, I’ve been lazy about migrating my media files, like the ridiculous amount of pictures I take to keep the blog up and going, to my external hard drive.  Basically, I’ve been flirting with maxing out my computer’s hard drive.  Which was under control until iTunes decided to make a back up of my phone on my computer instead of on the external hard drive where it’s supposed to.  At the same time, it extracted the updated OS file onto my computer’s hard drive.  And, well, kaput.  Let me tell you, once you get a warning that your hard drive is about to max out, it’s already too late.  It isn’t a warning, it’s a notification.

Anyway.  I’ve spent the last two days organizing my files.  And organizing some more.  And backing up my picture files onto Shutterfly and migrating everything else onto my external hard drive.  It’s times like these that I really really really appreciate shelling out extra for a superior internet connection.  It takesk me less than an hour to upload a gigabyte of photos.  Still, multiple gigabytes of uploads and gigabytes of data transfer and filing makes for a time consuming project for after work and parenting.

No pictures tonight.  Everything is still, digitally speaking, disheveled.  But, I’ll make some posts over the weekend to make up for the lost days.  See how I’m always thinking of you?  Always, I am.  Yup.

The moral of the story is that you always remember the urgency of backing up files while your computer is eating itself. Excepting the last six months, all of my media files live in four separate physical locations. Spend some time this weekend backing up your files.   At least then you won’t throw up from the potential loss of priceless media.

Leave a Reply

