Generations

Speaking of generational toys. Check that out. That, my friends, is the monitor for my college computer next to my…professional success computer. Yesterday was a facility closure day in honor of the earthquake. So, I spent some time cleaning out the remainder of the crap that should have been thrown away stuff that was left over from our move like twenty months ago. Hey, we didn’t have a garage to store it in.

And by “I”, I mean me and a couple of Danielle’s former students. Teaching does have some perquisites, you know.

Anyway, I couldn’t help but want to photograph the two together. You’re looking at the difference between technology from the year 2000 and some of the best from the year 2011. The monitor weighed more than my current computer. My new monitor is my computer. There’s no tower, AKA fire hazard when stored in a closed cabinet. Eleven years.

In related news, the architect for all the toys that I have now has stepped down as CEO. Sure, he’ll be Chairman Jobs now. But, whatever you think about Apple – and I’m no Apple disciple – that man radically shifted the course of technology in BOTH the 80s and the 00s. Reflect on that.

More personally, he’s the reason I can watch television in bed in the most comfortable way ever. I hope the move is to spend more time living life than it is to recover his health. I can’t wait to see what he does with the 20s.

Leave a Reply

