On Obstacles

One of the things that continually impresses me about Claire is her ability to overcome obstacles. Tonight, Claire was very hungry at dinner time. While Danielle and I were getting dinner ready to go we got lost in a conversation. When we came back to, Claire was sitting at her High Table with her backpack eating a nice bowl of pasta. She knew some food was ready and she appropriated a bowl for herself from the counter and set herself a place and sat down to chow down.

Honestly, I wasn’t even a trace of upset. I was impressed. She had to have been watching very closely to know where the prepared food was placed on the counter given that they are still taller than her. So, good for her. Note her use of the back pack. I presume that was her contingency plan for if her appropriation went south. Now, it just had a tea cup in it. So, I’m not saying she’s Machiavelli or Patton, here. I’m just saying, good for her for identifying a problem and a potential solution set and then executing a plan to realize one of those solutions.

She is, however, like that with a lot of things. For example, the iPhone that she uses to watch Caillou can connect to Netflix Watch Instantly. I’ve found her once, having identified a need to watch Dora and Boots, navigated to the Netflix App and successfully located an episode of Dora and started watching it. Now, we’d never set that show up for her. So, she was able to realize that the phone could provide it. That Netflix has a selection of shows that she’s seen elsewhere. And that she could use Netflix and it’s On Demand function to watch one of these other shows.

This ability is awesome, in the truest sense of the word. And, a bit terrifying. It’s scary to have such a young goofball with a highly developed planning and execution ability. I do, in fact, expect an attempted coup in the near future. But, well. Then we shall see who is the master now. Yes. Yes we shall. Game on, child. Game on.

Side note: After seeing Lucas’ vision for the first three episodes, I kind of wonder why Obi Wan didn’t respond more cynically to Darth Vader’s “I am the master now” dig. I mean. Honestly. He cut off the man’s legs and arm and left him burning alive in lava the last time they met. In LAVA, people. Vader may have had the last word (spirit words don’t count), but any victory is sort of a pittance when put up against the reality of his first defeat.

SIde note on the Side note: Yeah. I think of my role as a parent as Obi Wan Kenobi. And I think of Claire as my young would be Super Jedi constantly tempted by the Dark Side. Is that so weird? Is it? Because I’m not sure I have the ability to gauge that for myself.

Leave a Reply

