One Of THOSE Days

Today was a day. I’m afraid all I have left at the end of it is fortune cookie wisdom. Today was a day. Tomorrow is indeed another. And wherever you are, well. There you are.

We spent the majority of the day in the ER. Everyone is alive and well. Well, well-ish. Claire is truly on the mend, so that’s one heck of an upside. Harper is happily chugging along, like the happy awesome mutant parasite she is. Danielle, on the other hand, has the pneumonia. I’ve typed it enough times today that I didn’t even have to let auto correct fix it. I knocked off work to sit with Danielle and we spent several hours watching Bill And Ted’s Excellent Adventure on a muted television in the ER while they gave her several bags of fluids. I hear they’re thinking about making a third one. Another Bill and Ted Adventure, that is.

At the conclusion, they gave her an inhaler to help with the breathing and some antibiotics for the pneumonia part. My mom was a big help, bringing Claire to and from day care. Hospital visits are hard when you have a kid. Still, they are harder when you’re there because of the kid. So, another upside. Downside, I’m developing a similar cough what that Danielle and Claire so enjoyed. It’s been a long January.

So, why the rabbit in the Princess Dress? I’m not sure if you know this about Danielle and I, but! We’re closet supporters of Build-A-Bear. You know, we’ve been together for almost twelve and half years. One of our longest running traditions is an annual visit to the BAB. Hence the Table-O-Stuffed-Animals. About a month before Claire was born, we decided to go and make one for her. Now, when you have a kid people just give you stuff. Tons of it. Don’t get me wrong. It’s good that they do. Because, you don’t know. You just don’t know what you’ll need. In that shuffle, this rabbit got pushed to the side in favor of this or that other toy. Namely, Winnie the Pooh. I believe that was Michelle. And a damn fine gift it was. Claire loves that bear. Well, really those bears now. Because you’ve got to have at least ten of your kid’s favorite stuffed animal. They take a beating. I’m sure you noticed the electric shock color Pooh that has made an appearance of late. That’s what the others used to look like. I restocked when we were down in Florida for Michelle’s wedding.

Anyroad. It was nice to find it. I was going to give it to her the other night, but she saw the turtle from Nemo. And it was love at first sight. Besides, if we’re being honest, the rabbit was really for Danielle and I. Don’t tell anyone, ok? It will be our secret.

Point is, making a family is hard. Being pregnant and a mom is hard. Being a husband and a father is hard. This experience isn’t ideal, but it ain’t abnormal either. And you have to find a way to push ahead. And for me, today, it was recalling the experience of getting the rabbit and sharing a completely different toy with my daughter two years later because, well. Because, she’s like a person. And she knows stuff. From experiences we shared. And it’s awesome. And not the Ninja Turtle Surfer Dude (no disrespect) bastardization of the word. I’m talking biblical. And sooner than later it will be all of this times two. And if we can use the last two years as a guide, I’m very excited to see what comes next.

Now with that pep talk out of the way (because this one was for me) I’m going to go self medicate with a hearty helping of NyQuil and see how sleep goes.

One thought on “One Of THOSE Days

  1. Honey if it makes you feel better i happen to know Pam holds the plane up by the armrests. And it must work bc she hasn’t crashed one yet 🙂

Leave a Reply

