T Minus 19 Days

Gosh, it’s been a tough couple of weeks. Claire got sick Tuesday night and was sick through Wednesday and largely recovered on Thursday. Then, Thursday night Danielle was sick. Sick enough that we made another trip to the hospital to get an IV for some fluids. We made the decision to go around three AM Friday morning. Thanks to my mom for coming out on the spot to watch Claire. All in, we didn’t get home and settled down to rest until around ten AM Friday.

Everyone appears to be on track to good health. Now, here’s some advice. I enjoy scary movies, probably a bit more than your average person. But, I wouldn’t call myself a horror movie nerd. That said, if you really want to be terrified, watch Contagion after everyone in your house has been sick for a month and you’ve been to the ER enough times to know people’s names. Or, actually don’t. I just did. And I may have a nervous break down.

But, that may be the sleep deprivation talking. I’ve probably averaged around three hours a night for the last two weeks. I’m going to get some rest now. Just realized I had stopped typing for like five minutes and stared blankly at the computer.

Final thought. This is what making a family means, though. And I don’t mean that cynically. So, really thanks to my mom for getting up at three AM to help out and thanks to Danielle’s mom for the over the phone medical consultations through out the night. Some family days are harder than others.

Leave a Reply

